

OISE COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF OSE COUNCIL, held on December,122018at 3:00 p.m. in the Dean's Boardroomat the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

Present:		Ms. Cindy Sinclair
Prof. Glen Jones, Dean	Ms. Helen Huang	Ms. Janice Spencer
Prof. Kathleen Gallagher, Chair	Dr. Katharine Janzen	Prof. Shelley Stagg Peterson
Ms. Monique Flaccavenţo	Dr. Michel Kouadio	Ms. Hanna Wickstrom
Vice-Chair	Mr. Stephen Krencil	Dr. Lesley Wilton
	Ms. Fay LimLambie	Prof. Earl Woodruff
Prof. Kathy Bickmore	Mr. Terry Louisy	Prof. Terezia Zoric
Prof. Clare Brett	Prof. Lance McCready	
Prof. Kathy Broad	Prof. Doug McDougall	Ms. Biljana Cuckovic, Secretary
Dr. Andrew Campbell	Mr. Hamidreza Moeiniasl	of OISE Council
Prof. Charles Chen	Prof. Angela Pyle	
Mr. Alfredo Chow	Ms. Jeananne Robertson	Secretariat:
Prof. Scott Davies	Ms. Ruth Rogers	Ms. Daniella Spencley
Prof. Diane Farmer	Mr. Eric Schwenger	Ms. Lisa Smith
Dr. Rose FineMeyer	Dr. Coleen ScullyStewart	Mr. Doug Ullrich
Dr. Sheldon Grabke	Prof. Judy Silver	

Guests:

Ms. Kerri Bailey	Ms. Alison Grossman	Mr. lan MacLeod
Ms. Lara Cartmale	Prof. Jim Hewitt	Ms. Denise Makovac
Prof. Antoinette Gagné	Ms. Sim Kapoor	Dr. Jesse Sims

Regrets:

Regrets:		Prof. Enrica Piccardo
Mr. Dor Asia	Prof. Meric Gertler	Ms. Elisabeth Reesenstone
Ms. Sezen Atacan	Prof. Roy Gillis	Prof. Cheryl Regehr
Prof. Joshua Barker	Prof. Abby Goldstein	Ms. Riley Richman
Prof. Nina Bascia	Ms. Gurkiran Kaur	Prof. Creso Sá
Prof. Megan Boler	Ms. Marianne Lau	Mr. Said Sidani
Prof. Cassie Brownell	Prof. Ann Lopez	Ms. Staceyan Sterling
Prof. Carol Campbell	Dr. Carly Manion	Prof. Lana Stermac
Prof. Yiola Cleovoulou	Prof. Rhonda Martinussen	Mr. Rouben Tchakhmakhtchian
Mr. Isaac Eng	Mr. Matthew Moreno	Prof. Njoki Wane
Prof. Joseph Flessa	Prof. Sarfaroz Niyozov	Prof. Leesa Wheelahan
Prof. Patricia Ganea	Prof. Michele PetersoBadali	Prof. Marvin Zuker

Acknowledgement of Traditional Land

The Chair, Professor Kathleen Gallagher, welcomed menabed guests and invited those who would like to read the land acknowledgment at future meetings to advise her or the Council Sesteriat. noted that it would be beneficial to have more colleagues participate and share their learning and perspectives related to strelatively new cultural practice. She thread the acknowledgement to the c23.3nck

November 29, 2018 The OISE Winter Wonderland Community Skate held on Decentique 2018, brought together over 250 studenstaff, faculty and their family members. The Deacknowledge Sim Kapoor, Director of Advancement and External Relationned the communications team for their excellent work organizing this important community gathering.

Membes were reminded thathemain OISE Building will be fully closed for the wo-week holiday period starting at 6:00 pm on December 21, 2018 through to 7:00 am on January 7/h20de molition component of the bby renovation project is scheduled to ceed

- 6. Reports from Standing Committees
- A. Academic Programs –on behalf of Professor Joseph Flessbaair of the Academic Programs
 Committee, who was absent from the meeting, Professor Doug McDougall, Associate Dean, Programs
 reported on the proposts approved by the Committee themeetingheld on November 23, 2018.
 - For Approval:
 - Major Modification Proposal: Significant Changes to Existing Programs Educational Leadership and Policy – MEd

Professor McDougall presented the proposal and explained that the Educational Leadership and Policy (ELP) program wasroposing to eliminate the Coursework Plus Thestsonin their MEd degree, while continuing to offer the Coursework Plus Major Research Raption for those students who wish to study a cetain topic in more depth, and the Coursework Only option.